Lowry Penalized for Ball Marking Error at U.S. Open
Lowry Penalized for Ball Marking Error at U.S. Open

Lowry Penalized for Ball Marking Error at U.S. Open

News summary

Shane Lowry was penalized one stroke during his second round at the 2025 U.S. Open at Oakmont after picking up his ball on the 14th green without marking it, a clear rules violation. The penalty led to a double bogey and contributed to Lowry missing the cut, as he shot rounds of 79 and 78 to finish well over par, with the cut line hovering at 6 or 7 over. Lowry laughed about the mistake with playing partners Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose but later called it one of his 'stupidest' errors. The incident received widespread attention from fans and media, who discussed the psychological demands of the U.S. Open. Lowry admitted to struggling with both his game and Oakmont's challenges, reflecting on how quickly his round unraveled. The error highlighted the strictness of golf's rules regarding ball marking, as well as some perceived leniency in their application.

Story Coverage
Bias Distribution
75% Left
Information Sources
b5604fbc-eed1-463f-8ea7-72fed5b9d859c9756229-35f8-45f1-944f-b88de21be56e7d392afd-d4f4-486d-9bb9-fb451611397d6a8412fc-1096-4c2b-a630-24144fb8fdd2
Left 75%
Center 25%
Coverage Details
Total News Sources
4
Left
3
Center
1
Right
0
Unrated
0
Last Updated
1 day ago
Bias Distribution
75% Left
Related News
Daily Index

Negative

29Serious

Neutral

Optimistic

Positive

Ask VT AI
Story Coverage

Related Topics

Subscribe

Stay in the know

Get the latest news, exclusive insights, and curated content delivered straight to your inbox.

Present

Gift Subscriptions

The perfect gift for understanding
news from all angles.

Related News
Recommended News